It’s been many years that I’ve spend in searched for the meaning of love. I’ve searched it from things, yet I found it to be temporary. I’ve searched it from other people by trying to do my best to impress them so that I can be loved (temporary and hard). We people try to search it here on earth yet we can never find it. Love, where is it? Can someone really love me? These are the questions I once asked.

Yes “Love”, I have found it. We can’t find it here on earth but it was and it is always there knocking on the doors of our heart. You may find it counter intuitive but it is true. You won’t find it here on earth but you can find it above. Yet the very thing you are really finding has found you.

What is LOVE?

I found it here

  • “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16
  • “Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.” 1 John 4:8
  • “This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.” 1 John 3:16
     

Yes, this is Love, it has found me. When I am on my own darkness, sin, and problems. When I deny God and His will for me. When myself is not worth loving.

Now these questions might be on your head right now. “Who are we that this God, this Holy God loves?”, “Who is this God that he sends his son to die for me?” No man can answer it sufficiently. But some of these points may give light to your questions.

  1. He loves us because He is Love.

This is true. God doesn’t love us because we are good in our studies, job or that we attend church every Sundays. He loves us because He is love, it is His nature.

“Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.” 1 John 4:8

God doesn’t just love; He is love.

  1. God’s love is not based on what we do.

Imagine God’s love is based on what we do. Imagine if God based it on your work or your college grade. Isn’t that awful?

God’s love is not based on what we do, it is based on what Christ has done for us.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” Ephesians 2:8,9

“When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.” John 19:30

Jesus said on that cross that “It is Finished” we no longer have to work to go to heaven nor work to be loved by God. He loves us.

  1. He loves us because doing so glorifies Him.

Yes it glorifies him. Because it magnifies His loving nature. His love and his glory was shown through Jesus Christ, who saves us by dying for sinners like you and me and came back to life so that we may live again.

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were     still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8).

This is what love is, God is love. Christ died for me in my sin and darkness so that I may live again.

We cannot repay God’s love for us, but we can only surrender our lives to Him.

I have found the Love that never runs dry. Have you?

 

